What are Nated courses?

By Admin

National Accredited Technical Education Diploma (NATED) courses offered by TVET colleges

NATED courses offered by TVET colleges

A description of NATED courses and examples of NATED programmes




 (NATED courses are also referred to as ‘N’ courses or Report 191 courses)
This qualification is for students who are particularly interested and talented in an occupational/vocational area who want to develop competencies in the chosen area. This qualification develops the students’ technical and theoretical knowledge, and the workplace knowledge and skills required in their chosen occupational/vocational area. It will enable them either to study further or to be employed and productive in the sector at entry level and/or second tier level.The design of the qualification is such that it enables learners to progressively obtain the qualification by completing the related N4, N5 and N6 courses in a particular vocational/ occupational area, either separately with breaks between, or in one extended study period of a year or 18 months. This theoretical part of the programme must be followed by a minimum of 18 months’ practical application of knowledge in a workplace for the student to be awarded the National N Diploma, Level 6.


Fields of study

NATED courses are offered in the following fields:
(Engineering Studies range from N1 to N6 while Business and Utility Studies range from N4 to N6.)


  • Art and Design
  • Business Management
  • Clothing Production
  • Educare
  • Engineering Studies
  • Farming Management
  • Fertiliser Manufacturing
  • Financial Management
  • Haircare
  • Hospitality and Catering Services
  • Human Resource Management
  • Interior Decorating
  • Legal Secretary
  • Management Assistant
  • Marketing Management
  • Medical Secretary
  • Popular Music: Composition
  • Popular Music: Performance
  • Popular Music: Studio Work
  • Public Management
  • Public Relations
  • Textiles
  • Tourism



Total duration is 3 years or 3 years and 6 months, depending on the programme.
Each level (from N1 to N6) is completed over a trimester (about 3 months) or over 6 months, depending on the programme.
The knowledge and theory is completed over approximately 18 months, with a further 18 months for the practical workplace application.



The ‘National N Diploma’ on NQF Level 6 (360 credits) is awarded to students who have completed the N6 plus the required 18 months’ practical experience in the workplace.
The National N6 Certificate on NQF Level 5 is awarded to students who have completed the N6, without the 18 months’ work experience in the workplace.



Students with a National N Diploma are eligible to enrol for a Bachelor’s Degree, subject to the admission requirements of the higher education institution for the particular field of study. The National N Diploma articulates horizontally with a similar Diploma or Advanced Certificate at Level 6.
Access to higher education requires the completion of the N4 certificate. The N4 plus the necessary language is thus equivalent to the National Senior Certificate (Matric) with university admission. Four N3 subjects may be combined with the Business Languages (at Home or First Additional language level) in order to be awarded the National Senior Certificate.
Umalusi (the national quality assurance body for general and further education and training) standardizes the N1 – N3 on behalf of the Department of Higher Education and Training. It certifies N3 to allow for its combination with two languages in order to enable candidates to receive the National Senior Certificate.


Admission Requirements

Grade 9 for admission to N1
Grade 12 for admission to N4


No comments yet.